In honour of the City’s 125th anniversary of incorporation, Mayor Drew Dilkens launched the Celebrating 2017 Mayor’s Awards to recognize passionate, community-minded citizens and organizations who have helped to make Windsor the great city it is.

An overwhelming number of applications were received during the nomination period from October 16th to November 24th.

“2017 has been a year full of celebration and remembrance, and it has been a great year for Windsor,” said Mayor Dilkens. “As a way to wrap up the year, I wanted to turn our attention inward and celebrate the people who silently make Windsor a great place to live, but never ask for attention or recognition. The number and quality of nominations we received shows how dedicated our city is, and how connected we are as a community. I am proud of all the recipients and am honoured to present them with a Celebrating 2017 Mayor’s Award.”

The Celebrating 2017 Mayor’s Award Recipients are:

Access Award: Autism Services Inc. of Windsor & Essex County

Athletics & Recreation: Austin Roth

Arts: Jolie Inthavong (individual)
Windsor Light Music Theatre (group)

Champion of the Environment: Anne Widholm

Civic Booster: Gale Ann Carter

Civic Booster Youth: Olivia Lefaive

Diversity: Heather Mantle

Education: Philip Laurie

Good Neighbour: Patricia Carter

Healthy Community: Dr. Sarah Woodruff Atkinson

Heritage: Hour-a-Day Study Club (small)
University of Windsor (large)

Innovation: Dr. Siyaram Pandey

Inspiration: Charlotte Watkins

Mentor: Mike Lepine

Outstanding Fundraising: Liz Nehme

Outstanding Youth 13 and Under: Alison Stamatiadis & Grace Bornais

Outstanding Youth 14-18: Karl Zhu

Outstanding Youth 19-24: Anshika Jain

Safety: Windsor Police Auxiliary

Senior: Madelene Chase
Susanne Lengyel

Social Media: WEtech Alliance

Sports: Kevin Stubbington (care of Cristal Couvillon)

Team Excellence: Friends of Fontainbleau

Team Excellence Youth: Windsor-Essex Children’s Aid Society Youth Advisory Committee

Spirit of Windsor: Dave Woodall


Each recipient has demonstrated extraordinary efforts to make Windsor a better place not just for themselves, but for their neighbours, friends and their community.

A panel of three jury members independently scored the nominations, narrowing the applicants to the top two in each category. Mayor Drew Dilkens made the final selection between the two finalists.

The Mayor’s Panel consisted of:

  • The 1992 Centennial Celebration Coordinator Gisele Seguin
  • City Councillor during the 1992 Centennial Celebration Margaret Williams
  • Member of the Mayor’s Youth Leadership Team Gursimran Virk

The award recipients were recognized Tuesday, December 19, 2017 at Willistead Manor.